Day 5

I went onto facebook for less than half an hour to change my settings and respond to some private messages.  There were 34 notifications.  I didn’t even click on the globe thingie that lets me see what the notifications were and whom they were from.  I did respond to about 3 private messages and let a couple of people know how to get in touch with me outside of facebook if they need to.  I may eventually have to deactivate my account, but I don’t want to do that at this point because I don’t want the people I care about to freak out or think I deleted them as friends.

Eventually I may have Steve go in and make a status update on my behalf, but I just don’t want to even have to deal with thinking about that right now.  So I’m not doing anything about anything other than the settings I changed.  I wish facebook had a freeze account option so that people could see that I still have a profile but couldn’t send private messages or tag or post to my wall (even though I changed the setting option so that nobody can post to my wall), or any of that.

I felt kind of icky even just being on the site for that brief period.  It feels like I’m just pretty well done with the scene.  I may feel differently later.  I may come to embrace a whole new kind of freedom.  Either way, I’m sure I’ll be writing about it.

Leave a Reply

